Welcome to United Schools Federation.

The ‘United Schools Federation’ (USF) is a formal partnership of five primary schools, St Michael’s C of E Nursery and Primary School in Kingsteignton, St. Catherine’s C of E Nursery and Primary School in Heathfield, St Mary’s C of E Primary School in Brixton, Marldon Primary School, and Ipplepen Primary School. Please see the links below to view each school’s website.


Our schools work closely together  to ensure that the quality of care and education across the Federation is of the highest standard. We have one governing body, made up of representation from all our schools and one Executive Headteacher. The Executive Headteacher,  Martin Harding is a National Leader of Education and in 2010 won the Teaching Awards ‘Headteacher of the Year’ for the South West. Each school has its own Head of School, who is responsible for the day to day management and leadership of their school.


The Federation has a very strong track record of school improvement . Within the USF we now have two ‘outstanding’ schools, two ‘good’ schools and one school which is likely to be judged as at least ‘good’ at its next inspection. As well as being an ‘outstanding’ school, St Michael’s is also a National Support School and regularly works with and supports other schools. We are always  keen to work in partnership with other schools and should this be of interest to you please contact us.


In 2014, the USF applied to open a Free School in Kingsteignton. Kingsteignton School was approved by the DFE and opened in new accommodation on site at St Michael’s School in September 2016. Kingsteignton School is due to move to its new ‘state of the art’ school building in 2017 and when full will be a 420 place primary school with a 60 place nursery. For more information about Kingsteignton School please see the link below.


St Michael's C of E Primary School
St Catherine's C of E Primary School
Brixton St Mary's C of E Primary School
Marldon C of E Primary School
Ipplepen Primary School
Kingsteignton School